Running – the switch from hardship to habit

I’m a runner.

I know plenty of other runners run for the joy of running. They love the freedom and empowerment, and they can talk about how much they love it with such earnestness that 1) you want to try it, too or 2) you realize they are crazier than you thought. On any given day, with an hour of free time, I’d much rather be knitting or gardening. Wouldn’t you, if you looked like that while you’re running? Ha. I’m leaving room for this to change, and I’ve developed enough of a habit with running to date that not running regularly actually makes me feel bad, stiff, lumpy, and old. At this point, most of my pleasure in running comes from having run, having run consistently, and meeting goals.

This is so much better than when I started. Originally, I just needed to stay in my clothes. It was cheaper to buy some running shorts and good tennis shoes than to replace my entire business wardrobe. So, I did. My husband started off with my on my first run – if you can call it that. He tried to pace me – to teach me that I needed to start slowly. My pig-headedness won out, and I ended up winded and bonked after .2 mi. It was embarrassing. So we walked/ran that one mile. The next few were not much better. I wanted to run right then! After a couple of weeks and a goal of running a 5K within the next 4 weeks, I realized I was going to have to slow down.  So I did.  I ran my first 5K in 2010 in about 45 minutes. I bet you didn’t think you could actually move that slowly and still call it running. 🙂 But you can.  I promise, I only stopped to walk for the water stops.

Leave a Reply

