Plant Propagation

One of my favorite parts of gardening is the thrill of making one plant from another. There’s some kind of weirdness in finding joy there, but there are weirder things about gardeners to be sure. Dividing hostas and liriope. Thinning out daylilies and iris. Starting my own little patches of solomon’s seal from extras in my grandmother’s garden. I’ve worked through the basics of plant propagation with these typically easy, tough-to-kill plants. I also had some success a couple of years ago with hydrangea cuttings – but you know how that turned out.

There’s a little curved walk path in front of my house that has filled in to about 90% with ajuga starts that we planted in the Spring of 2008. And I’ve used those same starts to fill in lots of little dirt patches around the shady spots in my yard.

Recently, I started pulling sections of it out for a work friend. It was cooler wen the first set was sent off to its new home.

Last week I transplanted 6 more into little pots, and in our 90 degree temps, they wilted so severely that I just knew they were goners.

20120522-154811.jpg

After some cooler temps followed along with some rain, most of them seem to have perked up!

20120522-182352.jpg

I also read that I can propagate coral bells (heuchera), by picking apart some of the smaller, newer sprouts. So I did. We’ll see how these turn out soon enough. The mama plant was the only survivor of 3 that I planted about 3 years ago. I took three sections from the mother plant and gave them little mini pots to start in.

20120522-182741.jpg

20120522-182749.jpg

The same work friend who received the ajuga gifted me with some night-blooming cereus cuttings. I just stuck them in water, and some rooted almost immediately. Others took a little longer, but eventually they all sprouted roots. I’ve potted 2, and have another 2 that I’ve given away this week. I also clipped a small section of one cutting to see if I could get it to root in plain potting soil. It has!

20120522-204716.jpg

And last, but not least, lots of seeds. The slow-as-molasses method. These are all from the dark purple plant I’ve posted before. Does anyone know if the columbine seed will (eventually) produce a true plant? Or is it hybridized? Or does it depend?

20120522-205538.jpg

2 thoughts on “Plant Propagation

    • Thanks for stopping by. I haven’t been successful with every cutting/propagation effort, but I learned tons from a blog I used to read – I think it was called growing the home garden. The blogger seemed to propagate everything!

Leave a Reply

