Blueberry Basil Jam

From last week’s picking adventure at the Nesbit Blueberry Plantation, we set aside some of the first gallon for preserves. Blueberry has been my husband’s favorite jam (so far), so I knew I needed some set aside for just that. I’ve made plain blueberry jam and blueberry lavender. This time, I wanted to try the Blueberry Basil Preserves recipe that I found on laoo.

Blueberry Basil Jam = B+ with negative points for texture only.

I ended up using this recipe as inspiration, and followed the guidelines (loosely) on the pectin jar that I already had (classic, not low-sugar/no sugar as the recipe suggests).  I also reduced my amounts from the original recipe, because there were only 7 cups of blueberries remaining (from the unfrozen bag). With that as framework, please understand that I maneuvered typical Adrienne-style and winged it.

Because I was short on time, maceration of the berries with the other ingredients became my friend. In the A.M., I crushed the berries with the potato masher, added lemon zest, lemon juice, finely chopped basil (1/3 cup, maybe), pectin & sugar mixed. I used less sugar than the jar called for (about 3 cups). And less pectin, too (3 tbsp). I just figured that I could add more if it didn’t set. With the addition of the lemon zest and the fact that blueberries are high in pectin naturally, I just thought I might skate by with less sugar to fruit.

The macerating mixture melded together throughout the day. When I returned home at night, I turned on the heat for my jars (had already set them in the water on the stove, covered). Then, I put a saucer in the freezer. Next, I pulled the jam mixture out of the fridge and set it to heat. At about room temp, I tasted it, disappointed that it was too sweet despite my reductions. So, I added in another half a lemon’s worth of juice and full lemon’s worth of zest.

I let it boil violently for about 5 minutes, then tested it on the cold plate. Worked just fine. And tasted so good that it was licked. off. the. plate. No, I will not disclose who did this.

Toasted Homemade Sourdough and a dollop of Blueberry Basil Jam

See how the jam is just sitting there? When just out of the fridge, this stuff is gelled like jelly. It’s definitely a firm set – even using less sugar & pectin than recommended. That goes to show you that the blueberries (+ lemon zest) can do pretty well even with some benign neglect. Once this stuff has a chance to warm up closer to room temp, I imagine it will spread more easily. Either way – we like the way it tastes…right off the plate and on toasted, homemade sourdough. 😉

Spread thick and full coverage.

7 thoughts on “Blueberry Basil Jam

  1. Loos and sounds great! I would just call it blueberry ‘butter’ then.. I bought some at the farmer’s market and it had a similar consistency, her other stuff was called preserves or jam, but it was called blueberry vanilla “butter”, changes your expectations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

