Running Long Runs Differently

Sorry to beat a dead horse. Running in the heat isn’t news. And there’s no complaining here. 90 degree days are preferable to 110 degree days. There was a recent article – probably on Runners World, where some simple advice was given: To plant a cooler along your loop with a wet towel, drinks, fuel, etc. I’m going to try doing my hot, long runs with a short break. It might be cheating, but getting the mileage in is important. Getting up early hasn’t been successful lately.

I’ll fill in with an update once I’ve finished both legs. Hehe.

Update: I did complete a long run in the heat. I did not incorporate the planted cooler or a break at home as I’d thought I would. My sweet husband had dinner an hour away from ready, so I shortened the long run by a couple of miles, and just cranked it all out at once. Next time!

Leave a Reply

