Stitch by Stitch

I’d get it one piece at a time
And it wouldn’t cost me a dime
You’ll know it’s me when I come through your town
I’m gonna ride around in style
I’m gonna drive everybody wild
‘Cause I’ll have the only one there is a round.
(Wayne Kemp, recorded by Johnny Cash)

Watching a project grow can be gratifying. Yet, the slow pace of some projects makes progress seem bone-achingly slow. I have a few goings-on like that right now.

This sock was started on August 30. That’s not that long ago – just approaching two weeks. And I like it enough that it’s not a problem. (This is not a complaint). But I looked down at it the other night and realized that there are times when I can complete a pair of socks in that time. This sock has seen so many fits and starts. I actually finished the first one late last night, and its mate will meet the needles this evening.

Paper Moon Socks in Dream in Color Smooshy – Sock One

Paper Moon Sock One

;

Our nursery project involves reworking the layout of several rooms of the house which is making progress slow and a bit convoluted. It seems piecemeal and scattered. Sometimes 1 step forward results in 2 steps back due to the implications brought by one idea or another (let’s move the desk into this room = the cedar chest and rocking must now be moved, that can’t happy until we move the table which can’t happen until we rearrange the other room). It’s telling that the simplest solution seems more and more like selling and buying a house.

Still, time passes and progress is indeed made, and before I know it this pair of socks will be complete as well. Each stitch added to stitch creates more of the whole. It’s the most apt metaphor for my life at the moment.

Leave a Reply

