First Sewing Project Complete

After several stops and starts, last weekend saw my first sewing project finished. I bought the pattern and fabric some time between Halloween and Thanksgiving, and I’ve had the machine for years, for far too long with no use at all. I learned how to thread it fairly quickly thereafter with some help from the owner’s manual, my great-grandmother and my husband.

I didn’t take any real progress pictures, but I did get a few interesting finished object shots. Notice my son modeling for me. Believe it or not, the apron looks funnier on my pregnant belly than it did on the 11-year-old. He’s a good sport.

Close-up. First project included bias tape. It wasn't as difficult as I'd feared - really grateful for the lady at the fabric store who encouraged me to get the matching thread for it.

Close-up. First project included bias tape. It wasn’t as difficult as I’d feared – really grateful for the lady at the fabric store who encouraged me to get the matching thread for it.

Vanna Hands

Vanna Hands

I'm not sure what activity we're modeling here. But, it seemed to be his preference, so we went with it.

I’m not sure what activity we’re modeling here. But, it seemed to be his preference, so we went with it.

I love how the pattern is labeled “easy” and “simple”. I personally prefer, “Great for beginners!” It would take the burn off of not being able to figure out what the pattern writers meant with the simplest of instructions. Or maybe they just need to hire someone who has never sewn before to help clarify the instructions. Like a normal, sewing jargon version and then the idiot’s interpretation. It might help a bit. I guess I went through some learning curve like that with knitting, too. But, it was so long ago that now understanding a knitting pattern is not usually something I need help to do.

Time for the next one! I’ve decided to make my next project out of recycled sheets for practice. I’m not sure what it will be, but I’m excited to start. Hopefully, it won’t take another four months to finish.

Leave a Reply

