Flocking Fabrics Mobile – Part 1

When you set your mind on knitting your own crib mobile, but you wait until the week your baby is due to begin, your best bet is to find another project for that yarn and just move on to exploring the Etsy or store-bought options. That’s what I was doing when I the Tanis Fibre Arts blog posted pictures like this.

That was on Tuesday or so. By Friday, this had happened:

Fat Quarters from Sew Memphis

Fat Quarters from Sew Memphis

Despite the gentle encouragement to hand sew the birds (from someone who had made the same project), I decided to try the machine anyway. I’m not even a little bit sorry that I didn’t take pictures of those ugly things. Let’s just say that it was apparent right away that stuffing them would not help to improve identification of what they were. I tried twice with the machine before I decided that the scrap cloth and my sanity had suffered enough. If the lady in the fabric store suggested hand sewing them, then hand sewing probably made more sense.

By Monday morning, this had happened:
DSC_0014 DSC_0020 DSC_0017 DSC_0016 DSC_0019More to come!

Leave a Reply

