Meyer Lemon Curiosity

Last year, I came across this post when I started digging through the Food in Jars archives for inspiration. I didn’t give it much thought at the time. An NPR radio spot aired something about salt-preserved lemons shortly after that. A few months ago, my husband and I received a cookbook from America’s Test Kitchen with all sorts of DIY goodness, and salt-preserved Meyer lemons were one of the first recipes. Having no previous experience with Meyer lemons, and only a fairly negative encounter with salty lemonade at a local Vietnamese restaurant (I’m sticking with the coffee!), I didn’t think much about these recipes.

There was not really active curiosity on my part until the lemons arrived. Then, the power of suggestion had me re-reading the recipes and googling for more information on them. I decided to trust Food In Jars, and simply halved the recipe. There’s not much to say about this, yet. It was simple and quick. Even processing the fruit only took about five minutes.

Meyer Lemons in Salt

Meyer Lemons in Salt

Meyer Lemons in Salt

Meyer Lemons in Salt

I’m monitoring the fruit a little every day or so to ensure that it stays submerged in the brine all the while googling ways to use them once they’re ready.

Leave a Reply

