Meyer Lemon Curd (the Third)

Meyer Lemon Curd - from Food in Jars

Meyer Lemon Curd – from Food in Jars

I had never tried curd before this recipe, so I’m not sure how it rates by comparison to other curds, other lemon curds, etc.

This time, I followed the recipe to the letter. I used organic/cage free eggs and the best butter we could find.

Best Butter We Could Find - Plugra

Best Butter We Could Find – Plugra

Well, I followed the recipe to the letter except for the part where it said to mix some of the ingredients (eggs, sugar, lemon zest) and THEN move to the heat. I was stirring frantically and wishing I had a third hand, but I managed without scrambling the eggs.

I also fretted a bit too much over the heat instructions. I was watching my thermometer like a hawk, willing it to get to approach the higher temps listed in the recipe. It never did, but I realized that those temps were listed for guidance on getting the curd to the right texture. I’m afraid this point worried me too much for too long and I cooked the curd down more than was necessary. The safe temp for eggs was easily reached (160 F). Also, you process the jars in a boiling water bath for 25 minutes, so the temp would certainly be reached during that segment of the instruction.

My verdict on the recipe is that it was a win. I got about a pint out of it, which is all you’d really want since the shelf life of curd is limited to 2-3 months. These jars will not wait around that long. If there’s any willpower in our house at all, it might take us to mid-April. Even that is assuming that we just forget about it here and there in the bustle of our new baby normal.

Leave a Reply

