Haha Knitting

A thing I thought about maternity leave and a brand new baby. They sleep 16 hours a day, so surely at least 8 of those for me would be spent knitting, right? Whoopsie Daisy! I was so excited about the prospect of hours upon hours of knitting time that I actually took two projects to the hospital and the yarn to start another one. As the girls in my son’s class would say, “Cray cray!”

I did actually manage just a bit of knitting in the hospital – in the labor and delivery room. But it took me another two weeks to finish that pair of socks for my son. And we’re still waiting to take pictures of them!

Since then, I’ve managed to knit a few rows here and there on the baby blanket, but it looks much the same as it did in my last post on it.

I’ve also knitted the better part of a pair of socks for myself. I wanted something fun and stripy to wear around the house, so I’m making the Nice Ribbed Sock with contrast yarn for the cuff ribbing, afterthought heel and toe. I was almost ready to begin the heels, and then I noticed that the toe had been knitted and grafted facing the wrong way. Doh!

See the light blue line? That's the heel. The toe is at the end of the sock. Now, it has been frogged, and I'm reknitting.

See the light blue line? That’s the heel. The toe is at the end of the sock. Now, it has been frogged, and I’m reknitting.

The knitting might be slow, but it’s a necessary as it ever was, so on it goes! It might just be next winter before I’m wearing those bubble-gummy, lip smackingly sweet, striped socks.

 

Leave a Reply

