Crunchy or Chewy?

For me – it’s chewy if it has anything to do with sugar. Except cake. Most of the time, I’m not sure that I would like chewy cake. There are those times, though. The ones where any kind of cake will do. But this isn’t one of them. I’m talking about granola.

Inspired by my domestic goddess friend and fellow blogger, B, and her attempts at homemade granola, I decided to try a granola bars recipe I found through Pinterest. This one wasn’t persnickety about the fruits/nuts that you used, gave detailed directions, and didn’t call for corn syrup – just whatever (honey, maple, agave). There wasn’t very much refined sugar, and you could choose from any kind of nut butter. So, with such loose guidelines, I mostly followed

(i added vanilla), and voila!

My first attempt at homemade granola – overall a success. Next time: maple or honey instead of agave. Instead of the sugar and spice mixture – ground up, i’ll use pre-ground cinnamon – it just didn’t get to a fine enough texture. While the resulting crunchy spots were interesting and well-flavored, cinnamon bark just does not a chewy granola bar make.

One thought on “Crunchy or Chewy?

  1. Pingback: Almost – Peanut Butter frosted Brownies | pimplyserfect

Leave a comment